How To

How To Make iPhone Apps Always Ask For Location Access

With the increase in technology, the number of cyber threats is increasing at an exponential scale and even if you are an iPhone user, your security can be breached through the location settings. For instance, if you have your location switch on for a permanent basis, it is very easy for people to track you down. You will think that you are safe but GPS will take you down. However, there are settings which makes sure that your location isn’t switched on at all times and will be used only when you are using the app.

How To Make iPhone Apps Always Ask For Location Access

For instance, if you use Uber, you can switch on the location for Uber only and it will be switched on automatically when you open the Uber app to call a car for your commute. Getting to the point, if you need to make sure that you are able to set the location permissions every time, we have got a solution for you. We are saying this because we have added How To Make iPhone Apps Always Ask For Location Access in this article.

The New Feature For The Location Privacy

There was a time when location settings on iPhones only had three options; never, while using, and always but things changed with the launch of iOS 13 as users can now change the location settings as they want.

In the older versions of the iOS, users were given the option of “While using” which made sure that the location is traceable only when the app is open and when you close the app, the location would be switched off automatically and you can relax.

But this feature has a drawback too because if you give permission to use the location once, it will automatically switch on the location as soon as you open the application. This can be problematic in the future as the app will have permanent access to your location and can trace you as well.

However, in the latest update, the Apple has forced the system or we may say have added the property where it shows the option of “ask next time” which is liked by the majority of the people.

In addition to the “ask next time” option, there is an option named “allow once” which asks the users for the location access. This means that if you give the permission for the location access, it will be a one-time thing and the next time you open the app, you will need to give permission again. And yes, keep in mind that we are talking about the “allow once”. This feature put users in control of how they location access permission.

This feature is the part of latest iOS updates named as iOS 13 which is applicable on both iPhones and iPads. However, the permission metrics are completely your choice as to if you want to give the permission to the users or not. But if you keep the location switched, you can be traced all the time.

This feature is something we love because before the iOS 13 update if you wanted to keep your location untraceable, you had to open the settings and switch off the location as soon as you were done with the app.

The Reasons You Need To Use This Feature

There are many apps on the Apple store which require the location for signing up or starting but to be honest, they don’t even need, like who would want to access the location in a photo editing app. However, when you download maps or Snapchat, the location access is mandatory as maps will detect the current location and tell the directions for the destination. In the case of Snapchat, it asks your location and the filters are loaded which show your location.

However, with the apps that really use your location, the end-developers of the app could always target and trace you. With the new feature, you will be in control of your location access.

Now, the questions arise that when you should use this feature and we will have all the answers for you!

  • So, if you using the apps such as Uber, you need to give location access but to keep yourself at a safer side, try to use the feature of “Allow once” because as soon as you close the app, you will be done with the location access thing

How To Enable This Feature In Previously Installed Apps

If you had apps before the iOS 13 update (which you must have) and have already set the location metrics for that, this new feature of “Allow once” will not be available. But the option of “allow next time” will be there to fill the gap! So, to enable that feature, follow the below-mentioned steps!

  1. Go to the settings and then the privacy
  2. In the privacy, choose the “location services” and the apps will be listed down for you

3. Click on any app that you want to change the location settings of. There will be a new option of “ask next time” so, there it is!

Now, if you are worried about the end developer permission, you don’t have to because this option is available for all the apps and iOS users can use it without any hassle.

EndNote: This is something important that you need to know. So, the point is that if you select the “ask next time” feature, and then deny the location access, the settings will be moved to “Never” and the app will not be able to use your location. This is a good option considering you will not be bothered with location requests. However, if you want to give the location access, just open the settings and change the access as you like!

This was all about How To Make iPhone Apps Always Ask For Location Access and we hope that the settings were some benefit for you. If you have any queries, reach out to us and we will be here to help you out. Thank you!

Seerat Ul Qamar

I'm Seerat Ul Qamar. When I'm not eating, I'm typing away at my desk. I've got a knack for writing from others' perspectives. I can guarantee the content and information that you have been looking for!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Close